so where were we ... oh yeah off the rode looking ridiculous in their goggles. Of course at school the next day we all pretended to not know each other because in grade 7 that's what cool is all about. Thank God because if they would have returned the safety goggles there I would have lost my cool reputation! (ok well maybe not lost it I mean I was WAY COOL)
After about a year of weekend visits by the "gang" which had grown to about 5 or 6 boys (when they doubled on their bikes) We had formed friendships, some close , some not so much. The things they would do to impress me were hilarious thinking back, but at the time I thought it was annoying. Except for "the shy guy" he never tried to act all cool, he never lied to the others and told them we'd made out (which I didn't with ANY of them) and he thought I was funny even when I wasn't. ( I know HARD to believe me not being HILARIOUS... shocking really) As time went on grade 7 rolled into 8 for me which put them in grade 9. These guys were ok , the one came over for the food , the other so he could work on me being his girlfriend (which didn't happen ESPECIALLY after his mom called me wanting to know what I was doing every weekend with a bunch of boys... well DUH woman what do you think?? Making FUN of them usually!! GAWD) and the shy one just to talk, and talk, about real subjects, not just about himself and how cool he was. He never got drunk at parties and tried to grope me (like the others) he was always watching out for me and telling them to respect me. Then it happened, my best guy friend, that's right shy guy DID get drunk. WOW! He declared his undying love for me. UGH why in the hell did he have to go and wreck such an excellent friendship?!?!?! (of course what's not to love about me, really wasn't a shock) BUT to SAY it??? So I told him to "take it back!!!" He never did, even after he sobered up. That's when the hours of calls started. It was great we could talk about everything, and be ourselves like best friends but better. He understood me at a time in life when I didn't understand shit about myself. He never judged or lectured we just talked. He never declared his undying love again but was there and would drop everything to be with me or talk to me. The friendship was back. This friendship was one of my best memories of school. I Loved this guy but not in the school girl crush sort of way , or in the romantic way. I just knew he would never betray me and always had my back. He skipped grade 9 grad cause I felt like going to a movie and hanging out instead. Then we hit high school... Yup it was inevitable I found myself a boyfriend, he found himself a girlfriend... you know the kind, you're madly in love gonna be together FOREVER!! Doodle your name with his last name behind it kinda boyfriend, and GUESS WHAT ?? He was shy too!!! But now what? Where did that leave this friendship? Neither of our significant others "got" it, they didn't understand it and certainly didn't like it! What to do??? What to do??? Anybody who knows me... knows what I did....
What a great start...looking forward to more stories!!! Awesome Sin!
ReplyDeletemore, more!
ReplyDelete